THINGS TO SEE & DO
Lecht Mine, Tomintoul Set in the hills at the foot of the Lecht, the iron mine has a rich and interesting history. Originally opened as an iron ore mine in 1730 the mine saw substantial losses and closed only seven years later. The mine was re-opened in 1841 by the Duke of Richmond as a Manganese Mine, and at its peak of activity over 60 men and boys worked the mine and it was, and still is, the largest manganese mine every worked in Scotland. Sadly competition from imported ore caused the mine to close for a final time after just 5 years of trading. Only the crushing mill building remains, this being very solidly built to carry the water wheel, but spoil heaps and foundations of other buildings can be seen across the burn. The mine can be reached by a short walk from the Well of the Lecht car park.Contact:
Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition (Drumnadrochit)
Discover the history of Loch Ness from the ice age to the third millennium in a seven room, themed, automated walk through. Explore the history of the loch and the many mysteries and explorations that have surrounded its past. Learn about the rumours, the hoaxes and the truths and discover what may really live in Loch Ness. Using a highly effective mixture of animations, lasers and special effects, visitors can experience the history of the monster by exploring Scotland’s geological past and folklore. Find out what has been discovered and what research has been done and view some of the actual equipment used to explore and navigate the Loch. There are also various shopping outlets, the Loch Ness Cafe and plenty of places to explore. During the summer season, book a boat trip aboard the Deepscan and begin your own adventure of discovery to see what lurks beneath the water.Contact:
Macbeth's Hillock, Brodie
This is the location where Macbeth is reputed to have met the witches. 2.5km from Brodie Castle, lies between an area known as the Hardmuir and the A96 (Inverness to Aberdeen trunk road), about 2.5km south-west of Brodie Castle and 250m east of the Nairn
Millbuies Country Park, Elgin
The park offers a scenic woodland walk around around Millbuies Loch which was created by damming several streams to provide angling facilities. The paths are hard aggregate making it an easy 2 mile walk. Many different species of trees and rhododendrons have been planted around the loch providing an excellent habitat for a wide variety of wildlife. Try spot badgers, red squirrels, rabbits and if you’re really lucky pine martins. You will see mallards, tufted ducks and moorhens on the water. The loch is stocked with rainbow trout, boats can be hired for fly fishing. The grassy area near the car-park is great for kids to run around on and also has picnic tables and barbecue points. Millbuies is perfect for an outdoor adventure for every member of the family.
Formed in 2011 to establish an interactive Science and Technology Centre in Moray. A key objective is to record and commemorate the long and fascinating history of military aviation in Moray. Display assets include a Nimrod Airframe, a Sea King SAR Helicopter together with 9 different cockpits from aircraft such as the Nimrod, Jet Provost and Vampire. We have a Wrap-Around Cinema and Planetarium. Open 11.00am to 5pm every weekend from April to October.Contact:
Mortlach Church, Dufftown
One of the oldest sites of Christian worship in Scotland. The church of Mortlach was dedicated to St. Luag who was also patron of an ancient Celtic monastery in the area.Contact:
01340 820538 / 820380
Nelson Tower, Forres
The Nelson Tower was built by the Forres Trafalgar Club in commemoration of Nelson’s victory at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805. The Tower was opened in 1812 and is the most northerly of all Britain’s Nelson monuments. Visitors may climb to the top of the octagonal tower and enjoy spectacular views across the Moray Firth. They can also enjoy the exhibitions of local photographs and Nelson memorabilia shown in the Tower’s two upper rooms. Open May - Sept, 2pm - 4pm, Tues - Sun
Pluscarden Abbey is the home of a community of Benedictine Monks. It is the only medieval monastery in Britain still inhabited by monks and being used for its original purpose. Situated six miles south-west of Elgin in Moray, the monastery enjoys the peace and stillness of a secluded glen, but is easily reached by road from the town. The atmosphere of quiet reflection and of work dedicated to the glory of God is the same now as it was in the thirteenth century, when a community of monks first came to this part of Moray. If you visit the Abbey today, you can enjoy not only the beauty of its architecture and its setting but also something of the restful atmosphere of devotion that has so deeply permeated this little corner of ScotlandContact:
Only one wall remains but great views from Castle Hills. Built to protect the vital trade routes to Elgin the site of Rothes Castle is recognised as one of the most ancient strongholds in Moray. It is estimated that the castle was four storeys high and was protected by a portcullis and drawbridge.
Scalan Seminary, Glenlivet
For most of the 18th century the Seminary of Scalan in the Braes was the only place in Scotland where young men were trained for the Catholic priesthood. From 1717 to 1799 over 100 priests were trained at this secluded site, despite repeated attacks by Hanovarian soldiers, and the College played a vital role in keeping the traditional Catholic faith alive in northern Scotland.
Set in beautiful countryside two miles North of Elgin off the A941. For five centuries Spynie Palace was home to the Bishops of Moray, in the late 15th century Bishop David commissioned the building of a massive tower house standing over 22m high. The tower is still standing today and is one of the largest tower houses ever built in Scotland. Spynie Palace is now under the care of Historic Scotland, further information can be found on their website. Opening hours Summer 1st April - 30th September, daily from 9.30am to 5.30pm.
Stotfield Disaster Memorial, Lossiemouth
On the morning of Christmas Day 1806, 21 men from Stotfield Village set to sea in three fishing boats taking advantage of calm weather. The weather turned and the sea took all 21. A beautifully made granite boat commemorates the lives of these men and the others who have been lost at sea. Set on the West Beach Esplanade, it overlooks the natural harbour and on a fine day you can see the Northerly tip of Scotland.Contact: